I am an Assistant Professor in Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, San Diego. I am primarily interested in operating systems and networks in datacenters. My recent research focuses on improving the efficiency of datacenter applications.

Prior to UCSD, I was a postdoctoral researcher in the NetSys Lab at UC Berkeley, where I worked with Scott Shenker and Sylvia Ratnasamy. I received my Ph.D. in 2019 from MIT CSAIL, advised by Hari Balakrishnan and Adam Belay, and I received a B.S.E. in Computer Science from Princeton University.


CSE 120 - Principles of Computer Operating Systems, Spring 2023
CSE 291 - Operating Systems in Datacenters, Fall 2022


Zed: Leveraging Data Types to Process Eclectic Data
Amy Ousterhout, Steve McCanne, Henri Dubois-Ferriere, Silvery Fu, Sylvia Ratnasamy, Noah Treuhaft
CIDR 2023

Efficient Scheduling Policies for Microsecond-Scale Tasks
Sarah McClure, Amy Ousterhout, Scott Shenker, Sylvia Ratnasamy
NSDI 2022

Caladan: Mitigating Interference at Microsecond Timescales
Joshua Fried, Zhenyuan Ruan, Amy Ousterhout, Adam Belay
OSDI 2020

Remote Memory Calls
Emmanuel Amaro, Zhihong Luo, Amy Ousterhout, Arvind Krishnamurthy, Aurojit Panda, Sylvia Ratnasamy, Scott Shenker
HotNets 2020

Can Far Memory Improve Job Throughput?
Emmanuel Amaro, Christopher Branner-Augmon, Zhihong Luo, Amy Ousterhout, Marcos K. Aguilera, Aurojit Panda, Sylvia Ratnasamy, Scott Shenker
EuroSys 2020

Just In Time Delivery: Leveraging Operating Systems Knowledge for Better Datacenter Congestion Control
Amy Ousterhout, Adam Belay, Irene Zhang
HotCloud 2019

Shenango: Achieving High CPU Efficiency for Latency-sensitive Datacenter Workloads
Amy Ousterhout, Joshua Fried, Jonathan Behrens, Adam Belay, Hari Balakrishnan
NSDI 2019
slides code

Flexplane: An Experimentation Platform for Resource Management in Datacenters
Amy Ousterhout, Jonathan Perry, Hari Balakrishnan, Petr Lapukhov
NSDI 2017
slides code

Fastpass: A Centralized "Zero-Queue" Datacenter Network
Jonathan Perry, Amy Ousterhout, Hari Balakrishnan, Devavrat Shah, Hans Fugal


NSDI 2024 Program Committee
ATC 2023 Program Committee
HotOS 2023 Program Committee
NSDI 2023 Program Committee
SOSP Student Research Competition 2021 Program Committee
OSDI/ATC Mentorship Program 2021 Co-organizer
ATC 2021 Program Committee